

Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Government Response to the Report of the Regulations Review Committee on its Briefing on Best Practice for Publication of Secondary Legislation

Portfolio Attorney-General

On 4 May 2023, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- 1 **noted** that on 21 February 2023, the Regulations Review Committee presented its report to the House of Representatives entitled "best practice for publication of secondary legislation";
- 2 **noted** that the Regulations Review Committee recommended that the government provide a copy of the report to all departments and Crown entities that are responsible for making secondary legislation;
- 3 **agreed** that, in its response, the government:
 - 3.1 supports the work of the Regulations Review Committee in consolidating the requirements for the publication of secondary legislation and clarifying the Committee's view on what should be done to fulfil those requirements;
 - 3.2 notes that the report is consistent with the Parliamentary Counsel Office's Annual Report on Legislative Practices 2021-2022 and the Parliamentary Counsel Office's ongoing work to improve quality of, and access to, secondary legislation;
 - 3.3 agrees to the recommendation and note that it has, through the Attorney-General, directed the Parliamentary Counsel Office to distribute a copy of the report to all departments and Crown entities that are responsible for making secondary legislation;
- 4 **approved** the government response attached to the paper under LEG-23-SUB-0046;
- 5 **noted** that the government response must be presented to the House of Representatives by 17 May 2023;
- 6 **invited** the Attorney-General to present the Government response to the House of Representatives in accordance with Standing Order 256.

Rebecca Davies Committee Secretary Attendance: see over

IN CONFIDENCE

Present:

Hon Grant Robertson (Chair) Hon Andrew Little Hon David Parker Hon Peeni Henare Hon Kieran McAnulty Hon Ginny Andersen Hon Dr Duncan Webb Hon Willow-Jean Prime Tangi Utikere, MP

Officials present from: Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for LEG

5syaf7rrey 2023-07-04 15:45:39